Making Household Cleaners out of Common Ingredients Instead of Buying them


I have been on Pinterest a good bit lately and seeing a lot of recipes for making your own household cleaners.  We have been on a very strict budget at my house for well over a year now and I am always looking for ways to save money.  At this point it’s become a challenge to me to see how inexpensively 3 of us can live.  I clip, download and even buy grocery coupons on Ebay but so far am not an extreme couponer, the most I have saved in a week was $15 I think but still that was $15 still in my pocket and not spent on groceries.  Now that I see these cleaning product recipes, it made me think about how much we probably spend on household cleaning products.  I have found recipes for laundry and dishwasher detergents, general household cleaners and even deodorizing cubes.  Most of these cleaners are made with vinegar, baking soda, washing soda, borax and hydrogen peroxide in some combination and all of these ingredients are pretty inexpensive compared to prepared laundry and dish detergents.  I have decided to pick some of these to try myself and share the results with you here.  I will make sure I post pictures and complete instructions.  This will be another fun challenge.  Can we make our own cleaning products and have them be as good as the ones we pay a lot of money for.  Stay tuned………………………..

Leave a comment