Altered Steampunk Clocks


Well, this is my latest inspiration, making over old clocks, this one is the one that started it all.  I have always loved clocks for some reason, the really good ones are an art form unto themselves.  SO I found this beauty at the local thrift store looking very forlorn but I loved the detail on it and noticed that the case was solid wood, the more I looked at it the more I realized the possibilities.  I didn’t want to take the clock and make it into something else, I wanted to take it, give it a make over, turn it into a piece of art while maintaining its usefulness as a time-keeping piece.  I especially loved that it had a pendulum.  There is just something soothing about the swinging of a pendulum.  I have been very inspired by steam punk so I would call this a steam punk piece, even then angel inside the clock is handmade.  I used silver wire to make a frame and them attached the old gears and hardware to her, I added the white feathers to soften her a little, I thought the juxtaposition between the hardness of the industrial gears and softness of her feathered wings made her more interesting.

I have 3 more clocks in progress, as well as some steam punk style wooden boxes. When those are completed (I have about 6 or 7) I am planning to open an Etsy store.  I am also thinking of some other formats for the angels because I have found I really like to make them so am considering framing them as parts of mixed media pieces.  We shall see how that develops.  I am hoping others will appreciate my creations as much as I love to make them.  Please feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think of my first, finished, steam punk angel clock.

Steampunk Angel Clock

Steampunk Angel Clock

Detail view of the angel

Detail view of the angel

anotherangle sideview sideview2

Leave a Reply

