Curcumin for Joint Pain and my new best friend


I just stumbled upon a new remedy for joint pain and overall inflammation, well the idea is new to me.  Apparently Turmeric, the spice, has anti inflammatory and anti oxidant qualities when taken regularly.  There are several ways to use it.  One of the ones that interested me was as a tea but you can also take a supplement called curcumin extract.  I found the curcumin extract at Walmart made by “Pure Health” it contains 95% curcuminoids and also has vitamin C 80mg, the curcumin extract amount in it is 500mg.  At Walmart this was $9.95 for 30 of them and says to take 2 of them 3 times a day although the article I read said you only need 200 mg per day.  I looked online today and found a better deal at Amazon, they had a 700mg curcumin supplement $14.99 for 120 of them so I ordered those.   If you are interested you can find them here:    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AQLGFHK/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_0

I read an article yesterday written by a Dr Mercola

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/01/31/curcumin-relieves-pain-and-inflammation-for-osteoarthritis-patients.aspx

who said that he found that his patients found more pain relief from taking curcumin than from taking

“In the latest study of osteoarthritis patients, those who added 200 mg of curcumin a day to their treatment plan had reduced pain and increased mobility, whereas the control group, which received no curcumin, had no significant improvements.

A past study also found that a turmeric extract composed of curcuminoids (plant-based nutrients that contain powerful antioxidant properties) blocked inflammatory pathways, effectively preventing the launch of a protein that triggers swelling and pain.” Dr Mercola’s statement

NSAIDs and it’s definitely a lot safer and gentler on your stomach which is why I am so willing to try it.  Lately, on top of the back pain I have had a lot of pain in my joints like wrists, knees, ankles and hips.  Rheumatoid arthritis runs in the family but I have tested negative several times for it, most recently 3 months ago although 30% of people with RA do test negative.

I have also started walking almost every morning on my treadmill. I have known for a long time now that I needed to be moving more and that exercising would decrease my pain level and increase my mobility it’s just hard to imagine moving more when you are in so much pain all the time so I admit I have been procrastinating.   I got the deal of the century on Craigslist about a month ago.  There was a Nordictrack treadmill listed for $100, I contacted the seller within hours of him listing it and offered him $75 and he said yes.  When I saw it I couldn’t believe my eyes, it is like new, has built in fans, 12% incline, pre-programmed workouts, pulse reader, a port to plug in your laptop or Ifit device all the bells and whistles.  Check it out:!

My new best friend!

So now I set my alarm for 4:55am instead of 5:30 3 days a week so I can spend 30 minutes interval training as physical therapy for my back issues and believe me the last thing I want to do at the hour of the morning is work out but I can’t deny that once I am done I feel so much better and my pain is decreased not only then but for the whole day, it must be the exercise endorphins.  I have also incorporated hand weights for my upper arms while I am walking to help with those tricep muscles, I really don’t want those flappy old lady arms HAHA.    I am on week 3 of consistent exercise and I do feel better on the days when I walk so I really need to push myself to “just do it” every morning.

Here is the recipe for the Turmeric tea tincture, you mix this up and keep it in a jar in the fridge and mix about a teaspoonful into a cup of hot water for tea.

1 cup honey, 2 ½ tablespoons Turmeric, 2 tablespoons ginger, 1 ½ teaspoons black pepper

There is also a recipe for Turmeric milk to relieve cold symptoms and for healing from surgery or traumatic injury.  I haven’t tried it yet but plan to keep the recipe on hand.  I am sharing it here in case anyone reading this wants to try it now:

2 cups milk, 1 teaspoon turmeric, 1 teaspoon ginger, a sprinkle of black pepper, honey to taste

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan, heat to simmer, keep stirring for 2 minutes, cover and shut off heat and let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

The next step in my pain management treatment is another rhizotomy, it’s been 6 months since my last one (I had hoped to be the one it lasted a year for) and the pain has been slowly increasing since May and at this point has worked its way back up to about a 7-8 daily on the pain scale.  I am on 2 new medicines, Nucynta and Topamax and off of the Butrans patch.  So far this combination is working fairly well but I do have enough breakthrough pain that the rhizotomy is warranted as much as I dread having to go through that again.  It’s not scheduled yet but it will be the same as I wrote about in February of this year, I will re-post that when I have it done.

As usual, thanks for reading, I will let you know if I feel like the curcumin is helping with the joint pain and please feel free to let me know if you try it as well what you think of it or if you are already taking it please share what you think of  it.

Leave a Reply

