Make your own deodorizing dog shampoo, works better than storebought!


Lily all fresh and clean and happy!

Lily all fresh and clean and happy!

If you have a dog, you know how stinky they can get.  I tried a lot of different kinds of commercial dog shampoos to try to make her smell fresh after her bath and not just like a wet dog.  Even the ones billed as being “anti-stink” or “stink free” still left her smelling only slightly better and not for very long.  I decided that since I have been making so many of my own things lately I would try making a better dog shampoo and I think I have perfected it.

Here’s what you need:

1 c baking soda,

1/2 c Borax

1/4 c washing soda

1 tsp essential oil ( I used sweet basil oil and it leaves her smelling wonderful!)

3-4 Tbsp clear shampoo (I used suave ocean breeze scent)

finished product

finished product

mixing the ingredients

mixing the ingredients

Add about 2 c of water and mix all the ingredients thoroughly in a bowl or large measuring cup (to dissolve the powdered ingredients) and pour into a storage container.  I used an empty laundry detergent bottle but any 32oz container will work.  Fill the container the rest of the way with water and shake.  Shake well before each use as well.  Use liberally when bathing your dog, it is a bit harder to rinse out than other shampoos but you will be amazed at how much dirt is in the bath water and at least for my dog, she smells perfectly fresh for at least 2 weeks after her bath.  Try it and let me know how it works for your dog!

Leave a Reply

