Meditative Doodling where perfection is not the goal!


I was recently introduced to a new meditative art form called Zentangle by a close friend of mine.  I was skeptical at first but I did a google search and found an excellent site that has a lot of free patterns and you can even sign up for an email newsletter that sends you a pattern every day.  Of course there are a lot of books out there about it as well.  The basic premise is that you start off with a pattern and there are even detailed instructions about how to make that pattern.  All you need is a pen or pencil and a notebook.  I keep a notebook/journal with me at all times, I write all kinds of things down in it from books I want to read, movie titles that sound interesting and everything in between.  Anything I don’t want to forget.  Sometimes I doodle in it or draw out patterns for things I want to make I even write poetry.  Today at lunch I began my first real Zentangle drawing.  I started with a pattern called pippin and then added much embellishment of my own.   

http://tanglepatterns.com/2013/08/how-to-draw-pippin.html

Here is the link to the homepage of the Zentangle website in case you are interested.  This site is run by a trained certified Zentangle instructor so no copying of her images is allowed, they are copyrighted which is why I am only giving you the link and the image of the one I made myself only based on one of her patterns.

http://tanglepatterns.com/

That extra embellishment is really the point of it, you get started and then just see where it takes you.  You are supposed to try and just clear your mind and just let your pen guide you to what you want to add to it next.  In this way it is meditative, by letting your mind just run free through your pen.  When you feel it is done then it is done.  Perfection is not the goal, the goal is to try and feel what your mind wants to add to it and when you are all done the results can be very interesting.  I am a perfectionist so ignoring my urge to create perfection is really something I need to let go of in many aspects of my life.  Another important point is that ERASING is NOT allowed you must just go with what your pen puts on the paper with your help with no going back and trying to “fix” it.  This is another good lesson for those of us who tend to be perfectionists!  Art is not about perfection, it’s about invoking a feeling in those that see it. 

So here is what I came up with in about 30 minutes.

 

meditative doodling

meditative doodling

Try your own and feel free to share your results

Leave a Reply

