A lighter Note, my latest project


This one comes more under the heading of crafts than art but I think it came out pretty cool.  I bought the letter initial at AC Moore and I am sure it was on sale, I never pay full price for anything!  This one is made of wood so is heavy-duty, I tried to make a shell door hanging before but cardboard was not strong enough to hold the weight.  First I sanded all the edges with fine sand paper then I spray- painted the initial navy blue

shellcbefore

I decoupaged some scraps of old sheet music and maps as the first layer and let that dry thoroughly.  Then, I pulled all of the shells and sea glass of the former heart-shaped wreath and filled in with shells from my collection from living so close to the ocean and loving to go to the beach, I rarely come home without at least some treasures.  I used hot glue this time, last time I tried both E6000 and Mighty Mend It and both didn’t hold up well with the intense heat on my front door and things kept falling off because of the adhesive melting which was something unexpected for sure!  So this is a combination of shells and sea glass pieces that I already had and I used the screws that were already on the back to wind wire around so it would hang on my wreath hanger.

shellinitial2

I am very pleased with the final result, it definitely goes with the beachy theme of my yard and house but even if you don’t live near the ocean it would be nice to have a little piece of it that you would see every day and remember those fun times had at the beach in the past.  So far the glue has held up fine in the heat.  If you make one please share the pictures with me.

As always thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

