We have lost an amazing musician, Ray Manzarek of the Doors


manzarekmorrison

Ray Manzarek founding member of the Doors has died at age 74 in Germany after a battle with cancer.

He is the one who met Jim on the beach in Venice CA all those years ago and turned that poet into a singer then they formed one of the best bands ever to exist.  Their sound was always unique and in later years after Jim’s death, Ray was the one who worked hardest to keep the Doors’ music alive.  He was a gifted musician and made some indie films as well.  I have loved their music since I discovered them when I was in high school more than 10 years after the loss of Jim and they inspired me to begin writing poetry myself at 16.  Their music is the main soundtrack to my teen years and to me this feels like the end of an era.

Rest in Peace, Ray, say hi to Mr. MoJo Risin for me ❤

2 thoughts on “We have lost an amazing musician, Ray Manzarek of the Doors

Leave a Reply

