Banana Oat breakfast/snack muffins


This recipe is my own creation.  I was looking for something filling, yummy but healthy to take to work.  I also happened to have 3 bananas that I needed to do something with before they were too far gone.  So yesterday I started poking around in my baking cupboard and came up with this:****I have revised this and they are much better with the new recipe which is why it’s been re-blogged.  I was all out of baking powder like the first recipe called for so I substituted baking soda.  They rose a little bit and became airier so now I will only make them this way:

3 cups of rolled oats (not quick oats), 1/2 cup honey wheat germ, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Mix these ingredients together in a bowl, in a separate bowl, mash 3 bananas, mix in 2 eggs, 1/4 cup lowfat milk, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/8 c honey and 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract.  Combine thoroughly and then add dry ingredients, mix until completely combined but don’t overmix. 

Scoop into muffin tin and bake at 350 for 20 minutes. makes 12 muffins

banana oat muffins

The great thing about these is that they are very low fat and have no refined sugar or white flour and also satisfy a sweet craving from the brown sugar and the bananas being in them.  Let me know how you like them if you try making them I would love to hear if anyone comes up with a variation on this.  I am going to try some different versions of this myself.  I have also made these without the bananas and they are very good that way too, you just need about 1/2 c milk instead of 1/4.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

