Home Made; DIY Bath Salt, Moisturizer and all purpose cleaner


lavendar bath salt

I tried 3 more ideas from Pinterest this weekend.  The first was for home made bath salts.  I bought a set of 7- 1oz.  essential oils on Ebay for $7.98 including shipping and already had a pack of Epsom Salts.  I used 2 cups Epsom Salt, 1/2 c baking soda, 6 drops of lavender essential oil and 2 tablespoons of shampoo.  I tried this in the whirlpool tub yesterday and it was perfect.  The lavender oil was very relaxing as an aromatherapy and the amount of bubbles was perfect, I have to be careful with the whirlpool tub since too many bubbles can easily become a huge overflowing mess (I know from experience).  This mixture only cost pennies to make so I can safely say, I won’t be buying them again.  This recipe was a hit, I give it an A+.

lotion emulsifying grated beeswax lotion ingredients/tools lotion ingredients

I also wanted to try making my own moisturizing lotion.  I bought 1 lb of pure beeswax on Ebay for 9.98 including shipping.  This recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of grated beeswax, 1 cup oil (I used Canola but the original recipe called for Sunflower), 1 cup water and ¼ tsp Borax.

Mix the beeswax and oil and warm in the microwave until wax is melted, about 2 min, mix borax and water and heat to just under boiling about 1 min 30 (depending on your microwave strength).  Put the water/borax mixture in a blender and turn it on, I used “mix”, slowly add the oil/wax in a constant stream.  Continue to mix in blender until completely emulsified which takes until it cools, you may need to shut the blender down and allow the mixture to cool before it will completely emulsify.  The original recipe said 2 minutes, I had to blend mine off and on for 20-30 minutes.  Once blended, you can add your choice of scent with essential oils, my son chose peppermint.  I recycled plastic pump bottles that I already had.  This is a very moisturizing lotion but initially feels a bit greasy, also I shake it before use since it seems to separate and maybe this is because I used Canola instead of sunflower oil but it is what I had on hand.

packing lotion/recycled bottles

Overall I give this idea a B although my son said he loved this lotion for his super dry hands.  I will try it again but with either less oil or just try sunflower.

orange peel vinegar

Lastly, I wanted to try making all purpose cleaner from vinegar so about 3 weeks ago I put some orange and grapefruit peels in a mayonnaise jar of white vinegar and let it steep under my sink, yesterday I half filled an empty spray bottle with this mixture and added water to fill plus about 5 drops of orange essential oil.  I read that vinegar should never be used on granite, it is too harsh so I decided to try it on my outdoor patio table.  I sprayed it all over the top and when I wiped it, it took off all the grime.  This is another recipe that only costs pennies to make so I will be making this again to clean all my other surfaces with except for my granite counters in the kitchen and bathrooms.  A+ on this one

One thought on “Home Made; DIY Bath Salt, Moisturizer and all purpose cleaner

Leave a Reply

