Estate Sale Trash to Treasure of the week! *Updated*


I originally wrote this post in February when I first bought this piece and this past weekend I was finally inspired to complete this cabinet and am now using it to store all of my table linens.  I may have gotten out of hand with it, It’s so hard to know when a piece is “done”

here is the Before

blue cabinet

 

“I love to go to Estate sales and last weekend I went to one that turned out better than I even imagined.  As soon as I got out of the car I saw 2 tall narrow cabinets in the driveway of the house.  One was an old metal one and the other a 1920’s antique pine one with turned legs, a little brass fitted skeleton keyhole and nearly 6 ft tall.  The first thing I asked was “how much for the cabinets?” thinking that they would say something like $20 or $30 but they said $5 each.  I told them to consider the wooden one “sold”.  I then bought an entire box of maybe 30 taper candles most still in plastic for $1 and inside the house there were baskets of silver plated flatware 25 cents each, I picked out a meat serving fork and a sugar spoon.  I also found a very pretty footed square shaped glass bowl for $1.  Amazingly, the cabinet fit inside the back of my SUV once I folded the seat down.  I had visions of sanding it down and clear coating it with poly urethane and adding shelves to the interior.  I took the afternoon off yesterday and decided that I wanted to work on this project because I know myself well enough to know that if I don’t do it now, it may sit around for months and months or even never get done.  I have to do things like this while I am motivated.  I began to sand it with my palm sander and realized very quickly that this piece has a thin veneer that would most likely start coming off if I sanded it down to where it would look ok with only a poly urethane finish so I changed tactics.  I went in the garage and found the beachy blue paint that I used in the dining room a couple years ago when I redecorated.  I was only going to do the interior that color but ended up painting the entire thing, inside and out with that color.  Yesterday was a gorgeous day to be outside, it was in the 60’s, sunny and perfect paint drying weather.  I managed to put on 3 coats of blue paint, with the help of a friend, and had it all done in only a couple of hours.  I am so very pleased with the way it came out. I remembered a tip I saw on Pinterest about adding some vanilla extract to your paint to scent a room or in this case scent the inside of a musty old cabinet.  It works, try it!  I added about a tablespoon of vanilla to the paint in my roller tray and stirred it in, its mild but the scent is there.  The piece is actually even prettier than I thought it was now that it has a fresh coat of paint.  I am planning to add at least 3 shelves to the interior and possibly cover those with pretty scrap book paper and use it to store my art supplies.  It feels so good to breathe new life into something that was old and forgotten.  It’s true what they say, one person’s trash is another’s treasure!  I will post a picture of it as soon as I finish the shelves!

Here is the mixed media piece of furniture I created over the weekend as a birthday gift for myself.  I am pretty pleased with it:

inside door

inside door

shelf detail

shelf detail

outside door

outside door

One thought on “Estate Sale Trash to Treasure of the week! *Updated*

Leave a Reply

