Physical Therapy is even more important than I thought!


I am amazed at how much physical therapy is helping me.  I have to admit I was skeptical about it.  I was feeling pretty good and having people tell me that they couldn’t even tell I had any surgery because my mobility is so good.  However, when the therapist evaluated me she found some problems with my gait (the way I walk) that are easily solved with stretches and exercises.  My hip flexors have shortened because I have been over-compensating when I walk from when I was in pain and now it’s a habit I have to break. 

I have progressed to the point that I now have about 6 different exercises to do every day.  There is the hamstring stretch, the hip flexor stretch and pelvic tilt to strengthen my lower abs.  Two new ones are designed to strengthen my thigh muscles;  using a medium sized ball between my knees with a belt around my ankles I pull my ankles apart and squeeze my knees together at the same time and hold for a count of 10, then put the ball between my ankles and the belt around my knees and this time pull my knees apart and squeeze my ankles together.  It’s important for both of these that your ankles, knees and hips be in perfect alignment.  My thigh muscles are probably going to end up better than they were before so it’s dual purpose exercise just in time for swimsuit weather! J  The other new one is called “the clam” you lie on your side with your knees bent, do a slight pelvic tilt and while pushing the leg that is on the bottom down, you lift the other leg so you look like a clam shell opening.  This one I am supposed to work up to doing 3 sets of 10.  She also taught me a great hip stretch but you need a buddy.  You lie on your side as if you are going to do “the clam” you have someone strong stand sideways in front of you, put the upper leg around their waist so the back of your thigh is against their side, they provide resistance for you to push against, when you push against them it stretches your outer thigh, hip and glutes. 

We are also still working on thinning out my scar through massage, now I am massaging it side to side now, this is kind of graphic and I’m sorry but what I am doing is to “pick it up” and slowly move it back and forth to break up the scar tissue underneath that has been causing all the pain, I do this twice a day morning and night.  I really wish I had known about massaging the scar earlier than this, for anyone reading this who has yet to have surgery, scar massage is safe to do as soon as you are healed so about 6 weeks.  The earlier you start it the less likely it is that you will have adhesions like I did, this is a good preventative treatment for that.

All in all I am continuing to improve although am still on pain medication daily at least for now but it’s not as strong as the one I used to be on and I will continue to try and reduce that at each visit with my pain doctor, Dr. Netherton.  Thanks for reading and if anyone has any questions or comments feel free to post them I am happy to help if I can!

One thought on “Physical Therapy is even more important than I thought!

Leave a Reply

