4 thoughts on “Patience is the key to ALIF recovery

  1. Sherie Dickman

    I had this surgery on l5 s1 l5 l4 at the end of april this year 2013, I suffered a huge hernia 2 days post op, my scar is under my belly button and is about 6 inches its disgusting and I look disfigured, when I had surgery 10 years ago through the back, I went home with a corset and recovery was fine, if I had been asked which I would have prefered I would have had it done the same way again.

    Like

    Reply
    1. lynsey66 Post author

      Hi Sherie, I agree I wouldnt want to have the ALIF again the scar is bad although yours is way too new to know how it will turn out looking in the the end. My surgeon warned me it was possibly a year until I felt like myself completely again and also for the scar to finalize. I hope they told you that you need to massage that scar every day with oil to keep it from becoming “adhered” I did a post on that as well. Adherence of the scar causes a lot of pain. I dont remember to do it every day but I am working on it and it has improved dramatically but my surgery was 7 months ago now. Hang in there. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Cherie Dewitt

    I’m five days out from my 4th spinal fusion anterior and posterior approach. I had a cage placed in and my abdominal is hurting so bad and leg pain is still there. I hope its nothing serious?

    Thanks
    Cherie

    Like

    Reply
    1. lynsey66 Post author

      Hi Cherie
      5 days is not very long, since you had this done before, you know that its a long road to recovery afterwards. If you think the pain is much worse than it should be or are worried, definintely call your surgeon and let them know. I can’t believe you have had this surgery 4 times now, I really don’t think I could do it again but i do still have a herniated disc at L3 so it could be in my future but in the very distant future I hope. I am 8 months out and still have pain in my leg. All I can say is that its better than it was but I really had hoped to be pain free, I really thought I would be. If you need anyone to talk to about this, know that I am always here, ok? 🙂 No one understands this unless they have actually been through it like you and I.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

