Road to recovery, this time for real!


Thanksgiving was just lovely and I am amazed that I managed to pull it all off.  I think everyone in attendance had fun.  My niece Sarah spent the night and we always have fun when we get together.  We went shopping at Michael’s yesterday and it was the first time I drove since the surgery a month ago.  Gosh, was that only a month ago????  Even that fact amazes me.

Healthwise I am still battling my Coumadin level.  I am going every week on Wednesdays to have my level checked.  A week ago I was over 3 which is too high so my dose was changed.  This week it was 1 (obviously too low)  they want me in the 2 range.  I am taking 5mg every day except the weekends when I take 2.5.  At least I don’t have to do the shots anymore.  I also had a blood test to see what type of genetic trait I have that caused me to have the emboli.  I was shocked that this test took about 15 vials of blood, thankfully I am not squeamish!!  Even the phlebotomist was surprised by that number.  I am awaiting those results now.

My energy level is coming back, slowly.  Actually I feel pretty energetic most mornings since Wednesday of this week and am finding that it makes it easier for me to overdo it.  Brian has been pushing me to take daily walks.  Today I really didn’t want to go but I made myself do it.  I said I was only going to walk 20 minutes but ended up walking for 45.  I am pretty sore now but I know every day gets better and better….  I took some great pics out in the SC woods today and will put those up as a gallery.  When we got back, He and I worked together to clean out my little zen garden next to the back patio and plant a little fern we transplanted from the woods into it.  I also pruned my little rose bushes and fed them and noticed that my camellia tree has it’s first bloom of the season as of today.  All of these things combined make me feel grateful to be alive and make me realize how very very lucky I am to be here.  I think all my senses have been amplified by this realization of my own mortality and I am looking at it as a positive thing.  I wish everyone would look around and appreciate the beautiful small details around us every day.  There is beauty everywhere if you notice it and now I am!  I said it before but feel its true, there must be a reason that I didn’t follow Debbie on November 4th and I plan to keep looking to find out what that reason is.

Thank you so much for reading and if you have any questions or comments please feel free to post!

Leave a Reply

