Baby Steps on the road to recovery


I am out of the hospital, since Nov 9th.  I feel a lot better but am still having some shortness of breath and I find that I can’t do a lot of the things that I am used to doing.  If I go out I can only really go to one place.  For instance, if I need something at the grocery store, that can be the only stop I make.  I have tried a couple of times to go to more than one store to run errands and when I do that, I end up feeling awful for the rest of the day.  This is extremely frustrating to me since I am used to being on the go all the time.  I used to wish for more time to just relax and not be so scheduled and now that I have no choice but to take it easy and not keep to such a hectic schedule, I miss it.  I feel like I am out of the loop of the world.  I am learning patience from all of this though and maybe that is a good thing.  I am trying to be patient in my limitations and just take each day as it comes.  I am celebrating the small victories like finally being able to wear pants without a loose waistband.  Right after surgery and until yesterday I could not tolerate anything pressing on my incision site at all and also my stomach was pretty distended as well so style was not within my realm.  Yesterday I tried on my jeans and to my delight I could wear them comfortably.  Baby steps………This week my good friend and fellow blogger Jamie Lee is in town from PA and that is doing wonders for my morale.  Having some girlfriend time is great for me right now and I am grateful that she could make the trip to be here with me.  She is also here to be on Fired Up on Kinietic hi fi tonight from 8-10pm to discuss transgender issues and probably a lot more!  Brian and I will be in the studio as well so it should be a fun night!  So this is where I am right now, moving forward one step at a time.  I have an appointment today with a hematologist who will be monitoring my Coumadin levels for the next 6 months to a year.  Coumadin levels are critical when treating pulmonary emboli.  I have to maintain the perfect level so that it can dissolve the clots over time and allow my body to reabsorb them.  I will also find out how much longer I will have to be out of work.  I haven’t been able to do any of my physical therapy for my back that I was supposed to be doing but in spite of this my mobility is coming back as well and my pain level is slowly but surely coming down although I will say I am still very dependent on pain medicine for comfort and quality of life. 

Leave a Reply

