Day 15 Since Surgery improvement in baby steps


Day 15 since surgery; the most frustrating thing about this whole thing is not being able to do the things that I want to do.  Went out this morning to take Savannah to the vet and thought I could also go grocery shopping.  Of course Brian did the driving but even still, I barely made it through the vet appointment before the pain slammed me to the ground.  The ride home was excruciating, every bump in the road sending a shockwave of pain across the small of my back and down my left thigh. Actually the roads around my house have way more bumps and potholes than I ever noticed before!  After all this, the idea of grocery shopping is out of the question.  So, here I am back in bed propped up with an intricate pattern of pillows for support after only being out for about an hour and a half.  Everyone says to me, “enjoy this time that you don’t have to do anything” and of course I know what they are saying but it is easier said than done.  I have never been good at sitting still. The first few days out of the hospital were kind of like a vacation but the novelty has worn off at this point. Recently I have an increase of pain at my incision site.  The swelling in belly is finally going down.  I was shocked at how swollen I was right after surgery, I looked about 4 months pregnant!  Glad that is going away! Another strange thing is that the skin around it is completely numb so when I change the dressing I can’t feel it.

Brian and the kids have amazed me with their ability to pull together as a team to keep everything going.  The laundry and dishes are always done, eventually, the meals get made, the cleaning gets done.  While it may not be exactly the way I would do it, I am grateful that they are doing their best.  I am very proud that the kids have stepped up and worked as a team to get everything done without complaining.  I will need to practice patience with myself, and I promise I will try to enjoy my time “off”.  Today is a gorgeous sunny day in the low 70’s, really perfect weather as far as I am concerned.  Days like this are exactly why we love living in SC.  As much as I wish I could be outside taking a nice long walk with Lily, I will have to be contented with  carefully and slowly walking around my yard with her instead.   We have all the windows open today because it is so beautiful, it’s nice to have nice fresh air coming into the house after an entire summer of air-conditioned “canned” air.

 I am also happy to report that Brian and I are still non-smokers for over 2 weeks. We last smoked the day before surgery, cold turkey!   This has not been an easy thing to do especially through all this stress but we are doing it.  I am only willing to say that I won’t smoke today, it seems like too much for me to say never again even though I can’t imagine why I would ever start again.  I feel like I can breathe better already and I really don’t miss how smelly they are and the expense!  Our budget is going be helped dramatically by not spending $250 a month for smokes.  Now that I am only taking in short term disability we need to make every penny count.  I am not saying that I don’t crave them, I do but I will NOT give in and smoke!  We have done it without the use of the gum or the patch because the nicotine in those products would prevent the bone growth between my vertebrae.  Brian could use those products but I think he did it the same way as me as a sign of solidarity……….. so sweet 🙂

So all in all I am getting better every day, little by little.  Monday I start in-home physical therapy and am looking forward to that.  As always, thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment and let me know your thoughts or experiences with what I have written about today. Ttyl

 

Leave a Reply

