My mother the Poet


Writing must run in the family.  I was just cleaning out my email inbox when I came across an email from 2007 from my mom with these 2 poems in it.  I just had to share them, I had actually forgotten that she sent these to me.  The first poem about Nicole was written the day she was born.  My mother was in the room with me when I had her and it was the first time she ever saw a baby being born.  That day I remember she and I talked about it and she originally said she wasn’t sure if she could stay in the room during the actual birth but maybe just while I labored.  It ended up that she just stayed and she handled it really well, she was a huge help and comfort to me while I was in labor.  I remember she told me it was such a moving experience that she went home and wrote this poem about her feelings about her new granddaughter.

                                                         NICOLE

THIS WONDEROUS MIRACLE BRINGS JOY AND LAUGHTER

TO THE HEARTS OF ALL FOREVER AFTER

NICOLE IS HER NAME, THIS SPECIAL CHILD

WITH EYES SO BRIGHT AND MANNER SO MILD

THE TINY FOOT STEPS ON THE STAIR

TELLS YOU THAT A CHILD IS THERE

IT’S FUN TO THINK OF THE TIME TO COME

WHEN THE INFANT WE HOLD WILL A CHILD BECOME

WITH FLYING FEET AND FLOWING HAIR

THIS BEAUTIFUL GIRL WILL BEGUILE YOU THERE

DOLLS AND DRESSES AND TOYS AND SWINGS

TOMORROWS DREAMS ARE MANY THINGS

 

WRITTEN WITH LOVE, GRAMMA

This one is about love and I don’t remember reading it before although I know I must have.  It is very poignant. I wonder, reading it, who she is referring to, who was this love? We rarely think about our parents as people with thoughts, dreams and loves from the past, it is a very interesting perspective indeed.  My mother is a fascinating, multi-faceted woman.

                                                                        A LESSON IN LIFE AND LOVE

LOOKING BACK I REALIZE THAT I WAS IN LOVE WITH LOVE                    

NOT A PERSON.  I AM THANKFUL THAT I NEVER ACTED UPON THESE FEELINGS

FOR IT WOULD HAVE SPOILED THE DELICIOUS FEELING OF LOVE REMEMBERED.

IT’S ALMOST LIKE TRYING TO CREATE A MOVIE TO SIMULATE THE

BEAUTY AND WONDERS OF THE WRITTEN WORD.

YOUTH IS A TIME FILLED WITH DREAMS AND PASSIONS THAT ARE

BEST REMEMBERED FOR WHAT THEY SEEMED TO BE AND NOT WHAT

THEY ACTUALLY WERE.

REAL LOVE COMES LATER………………MUCH LATER AND IT’S BEST NOT TO SPOIL                                                                     

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

A MEMORY THAT WILL NOT SURVIVE THE TEST OF TIME.

 

GLADYS J.

Leave a Reply

