Deconstructing “Come Fly With Me” Buried Treasure 7-11-12


I am re-posting this blog entry as part of the Buried Treasure Hunt organized by “The Altered Page”.  There will be many artist/bloggers participating so not only will more people see my work but I can check out what other artists are doing as well.  Take a minute and go to http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/    and check it out, everyone is posting their favorite entries today.  Thanks for stopping by as always.

 

This piece took me about 8 months to finish.  My original idea was for it to be a painting called “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road”.  I started with a 12×12 canvas and painted the yellow brick road meandering down the center of the piece.  I used coarse texture medium to add depth and shades of blues and greens for the surrounding areas.  As a painting I wasn’t happy with it and I put it aside but I was always thinking about it and working on it in my mind which I do with all of my pieces.  Months later I decided that the painting made an excellent background for a collage.  I began with the “bricks” of gold cardstock with dictionary definitions cut out for the words “goodbye”, “yellow”, “brick” and road.  Then the poppies came to mind inspired the flowers in the wizard of oz.  Later I thought of using the images of my sister and brother whom I miss dearly and every day of my life.  I wanted to conjure up an image that when my sister passed she was greeted by our brother who went before her.  I put a wizard hat on him and gave him a gold wand.  He is beckoning to her as she hatches out of the egg that was her life on earth and welcoming her to her new home with him.  I made the egg out of sheet music because she and I and really our entire family loves music.  She and I especially had songs that we shared a love for and listening to them now makes me remember our bond.  The little girl in the window represents me as being left behind here without them but always able to feel them.  The words “I shall live my life in shades of gray instead” was cut from scrapbook paper that I already had but the words resonated with me.  My world now is not in as vibrant color as before.  I am hopeful that the colors will come back to me, making art is very healing to my soul and my heart.  I would liken the process of making any of my pieces, but this one in particular, to giving birth.  It is extremely difficult and frustrating at times but joyful in the end.  Most of my pieces come into being this way but I am always glad that I pushed through the process, they are little pieces of my soul and are always worth it in the end.

 
 
Leave a Reply

