Saying Yes to my Dream


I am reading a book called “A Place of Yes” by Bethenny Frankel.  I first saw her on the Real Housewives of NYC and followed her to Bethenny Ever After (both Bravo TV shows in case you haven’t seen them).  I liked her feisty attitude and wry, sarcastic sense of humor (kinda like mine).  I never really thought that I would read a book written by a “Bravo-lebrity” (their word) but now that I am, I have to say it’s actually really good.  The whole point of the book is to explain how she got to the level of success that she has reached at this point.  At first I thought, “oh sure, there are just 10 simple rules for getting everything you want”.  I figured it was just another self help book However, even if they sound a bit cliché’, reading it is making me think.  As I have shared before, I am searching around trying to figure out what I am supposed to be doing, it certainly isn’t office work, that much I know.  I couldn’t have been born for that.  Inside, I feel I am an artist, I don’t feel confident enough in my ability to actually call myself that.  What she says in her book is that If you want something badly enough, no matter what, you must pursue it until it comes true.  Even if you try and fail 100 times, you have to keep trying to achieve what you believe in, what your passion is.  She also quotes Arianna Huffington (of the Huffington Post website) in this regard.  Apparently Arianna’s second book was rejected 30+ times by publishers despite the first book having been a great success.  She said she could have given up after the first 15 and she did consider other forms of employment since she did have bills to pay but all she could think of was that she just KNEW she was meant to be an author.  So after 30+ rejections, the second book was published, finally.  It wasn’t as successful as the first but the bottom line is that it WAS published and critics gave it good reviews.  What impressed me most was that neither of these women would quit no matter how many times someone tried to put a block in their roads and told them “no”.  They set their sights on their goal and relentlessly pursued it until they achieved it.  I really admire that and it gives me strength and hope that maybe somehow my dream could come true as well.  These are 2 of my favorite quotes:

“OWN IT: If you do it, say it, think it then own it. Stand up for yourself and fully acknowledge who you really are.”

“EVERYTHING’S YOUR BUSINESS: Treat every job, person, and experience as if it could lead to your next big opportunity.”

Leave a Reply

