Grateful


“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy;
they are the charming gardeners
who make our souls blossom.”Marcel Proust, French Novelist

It’s very easy to sink and wallow in all the bad things that happen to us and around us and even in the world at large if you watch the news.  I know I have a hard time with this.  My mind will continually wander back to heartache no matter how hard I try to think positively.  I have to consciously drag it back to all the reasons I have to be grateful and there are many.  I am grateful that my children have grown up to be productive happy people, I am gratfeul that my marriage is strong after almost 23 years, I am grateful for my home and for my very good friends, some whom I have known all my life and some it just seems like I have always known them.  Today I was grateful when I was out taking my walk at lunch which I try to do every day for 30 minutes, I felt happy looking around me at the palm trees and the river even while I was listening to my Ipod very loud for motivation, I still paused to notice all the beauty around me.  So, I guess I am also grateful that I work in a place that is so pretty and has trails that I can walk on every day to clear my head.  So this is what I am thinking about today, focusing on all the things to happy about and letting go of the things that drag me down and make me feel sad.  I have wasted far too much of my life so far in sadness.  I am older and stronger now and will try every day to stop and just be grateful.  I hope you will too.  Thanks as always for reading.

Leave a Reply

