Holding on and Letting go


Something that I always wonder about is why some people come into your life.  Sometimes you meet someone and you know instantly whether you are going to hit it off or not and then others you meet and know right away that you have nothing in common.  Then there is the other type where you meet and feel some type of connection and even though the going gets rough you stick it out and keep hoping that it will get better.  I really should be writing this in the first person because maybe I am the only one who goes through this.  I feel like I tend to keep trying with people who disappoint or take advantage of me way longer than I should.  I know I have a need to be helpful and if there is anything that I can do to help someone I am willing to do it.  I am realizing though, that there are a lot of people who take that to mean I am a doormat and they take a lot more than they give.  Friendship has to be a two-way street.  I am not in a place in a my life where I have enough emotional energy anymore to just give and give and feel taken advantage of anymore.  So my struggle is to try to realize this earlier on and let go.  I read a quote on Pinterest that said “All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.” ~Havelock Ellis.  So therein lies what I am trying to find the balance of.  I feel stronger than I have in the last 2 years and I think this balance is something I will find.  I am realizing that this is not selfish as I once thought it was, it is more selfish to continue to hold on to negativity that affects the people who really matter.

Thanks for reading 🙂  TTYL

 

it's amazing to think of letting go

3 thoughts on “Holding on and Letting go

  1. Ron Ellstrom-Oliver

    You are so true about everything you said. I can’t tell you how much of a waste it is to focus on people who in my opinion are only taking advantage of you. You deserve so much more than that!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

